
National Bank Platinum Mastercard
Churning cardWhat the roles mean
- The welcome offer: up to 35,000 points and the $70 fee back in year one, on a card with no minimum income
"You could get up to 35,000 rewards points and save on annual fees for the first year after enrollment."
Ends November 4, 2026.
Checked on National Bank's own page October 21, 2026. See National Bank's page
What it earns in a year
42,503 points a year
Worth about $283 after the $70 fee at the simplest redemption, up to $355 at the best.
Based on $30,000 a year of spending ($9,600 groceries, $3,000 gas, $3,000 dining…). Welcome offer not included.
Try it with your own spending →
- Groceries (First $500 a month, then 1.5× points): 2× points.
- Dining & restaurants (First $500 a month, then 1.5× points): 2× points.
- Gas / EV: 1.5× points.
- Bills & subscriptions: 1.5× points.
- Travel: 1.5× points.
- Everything else: 0.67× points.
Highlighted = use this card here.
Using your points
On the spending above, 42,503 points a year: worth $353 the easy way, $425 the best way.
- Easy way (0.83¢): Gift cards, or more than 55,000 points in one go
- Best way (1¢): À la carte Travel: 10,000 points = $100
How to apply for the National Bank Platinum Mastercard
Check first
- Bonus for new NBC cardholders only: you can't get it if you have a National Bank Mastercard or had one in the past 12 months
- Check you qualify No minimum income listed. You need to live in Canada and be the age of majority in your province.
- Have this ready Your address and how long you've lived there, your employer and yearly income, and your monthly rent or mortgage. Your SIN is optional for a credit card; you can leave it blank.
- Expect a credit check Applying adds a hard inquiry to your credit report, which lowers your score a little for a few months. Space applications about 90 days apart.
- Apply on National Bank's own site Apply online from the bank's product page, where the offer above is shown. This isn't an affiliate link: we earn nothing if you apply.Apply on National Bank's site →
- After you're approved Put the spending needed for the welcome offer on the card before the deadline, and pay the full balance every month.
How to use it
- Groceries and restaurants: 2 points per $1 on the first $1,000 a month combined, then 1.5
- Gas, EV charging, recurring bills: 1.5 points per $1
- Everything else: use another card. This one pays 1 point per $1.50
- Redeem: on travel through À la carte Travel or as a travel credit (100 points = $1). Other options pay less
- Welcome offer: 10,000 of the points need paid payment-protection insurance kept for 3 months. Check its cost first
- Example: $800/month groceries + $250 dining + $250 gas + $300 bills = 34,800 points = $348 a year in travel, $278 after the fee
Key facts
- Annual fee
- $70
- Purchase interest
- 20.99%
- Foreign currency fee
- 2.5%
- Min. personal income
- None published
- Min. household income
- None published
- Rewards
- National Bank À la carteSee every National Bank À la carte card
Annual fee waiver
- Year one: $70 reimbursed under the current offer (apply by November 4, 2026)
- Ongoing: $0 for eligible National Bank Wealth Management clients, healthcare professionals, and Privilege or Private Banking 1859 offers
- The catch: you need one of those relationships; there is no balance-based waiver
From nbc.ca Platinum page, checked October 17, 2026. Not an affiliate link.
More National Bank cards

Neo World Elite Mastercard
- This card: dining & restaurants, travel
- Neo World Elite Mastercard: groceries, gas / ev, bills & subscriptions, transit, drugstore / pharmacy, entertainment, everything else
- Together: $659 a year after both fees, vs $283 with this card alone
- With this card's $70 fee rebated (see Fee waiver): $729 a year
If your stores take Amex: Scotiabank Gold Amex for groceries, gas / ev, dining & restaurants, transit, drugstore / pharmacy, entertainment, everything else makes it $833 a year. Costco and Loblaw-banner grocers don't take Amex.
Computed on our standard household ($30,000 a year): each kind of spending goes to whichever card pays more, both fees taken off. Partners are everyday, category and churning cards on Visa or Mastercard. Points at their simplest redemption. Welcome offers not included.
Pros
- Year one: $70 fee reimbursed
- Year one: up to 35,000 points: 10,000 for $2,500 in 3 months, 15,000 more for $10,000 in 12 months, 10,000 for keeping payment protection 3 months. Apply by November 4, 2026
- 2 points per $1 on groceries and restaurants, 1.5 on gas, EV charging and bills
- No minimum income
- Points don't expire while the account is open
- Insurance: $1,000 phone, 180-day purchase cover, triple warranty
Cons
- 1 point per $1.50 on everything else
- 2-point rate stops at $1,000 a month of groceries + restaurants
- $70 a year from year two
- Points are worth less outside travel (gift cards under 0.8¢ a point)
- Travel medical covers only the first 10 days of a trip, and nobody 76 or over
- 2.5% on foreign-currency purchases
- No welcome offer if you held a National Bank Mastercard in the past 12 months
Insurance included
- Travel medical: $5 million, first 10 days of a trip (not for 76+)
- Trip cancellation: $1,000 per person
- Trip interruption: $1,500 per person
- Flight delay: $500 per person, after 4 hours
- Delayed bags: $500 per person, after 6 hours
- Lost or stolen bags: $1,000 per person
- Rental car damage: up to 48 days
- Phone: $1,000 for loss, theft or damage, up to 2 years after purchase
- Purchases: 180 days of theft/damage cover, warranty tripled (up to 2 extra years)
Maximums as National Bank lists them. Conditions apply; the insurance certificate decides claims.
Perks
- À la carte Travel: National Bank's travel agency, where points are worth the most
- Points to RRSP or TFSA: at the same $1 per 100 points
Other cards for groceries
Back a year on $9,600 of groceries, caps included. Points at best-case value. Before annual fees.
| Card | Earns on groceries | Back a year | Annual fee | Terms checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amex Cobalt | 5× points≈ 10.0% in value | $960 | $192 | October 21, 2026 |
| Scotiabank Gold Amex | 6× points | $576 | $120 | November 2, 2026 |
| Neo World Elite Mastercard | 5% back | $480 | $149 | October 21, 2026 |
| National Bank World Elite Mastercard | 5× points | $480 | $150 | October 21, 2026 |
| Desjardins Cash Back World Elite Mastercard | 4% back | $384 | $100 | October 23, 2026 |
| SimplyCash Preferred | 4% back | $384 | $120 | October 21, 2026 |
| National Bank Platinum Mastercard | 2× points≈ 1.8% in value | $174 | $70 | October 21, 2026 |
Other cards for dining & restaurants
Back a year on $3,000 of dining & restaurants, caps included. Points at best-case value. Before annual fees.
| Card | Earns on dining & restaurants | Back a year | Annual fee | Terms checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amex Cobalt | 5× points≈ 10.0% in value | $300 | $192 | October 21, 2026 |
| Scotiabank Gold Amex | 5× points | $150 | $120 | November 2, 2026 |
| National Bank World Elite Mastercard | 5× points | $150 | $150 | October 21, 2026 |
| Simplii Cash Back Visa | 4% back | $120 | $0 | October 21, 2026 |
| RBC British Airways Visa Infinite | 2× points≈ 4.0% in value | $120 | $165 | October 23, 2026 |
| Desjardins Odyssey Visa Infinite Privilege | 4% back | $120 | $395 | October 21, 2026 |
| National Bank Platinum Mastercard | 2× points | $60 | $70 | October 21, 2026 |
How the offer has changed
One row per check of National Bank's page, newest first. Old rows are never edited.
| Checked | Welcome offer | Fee, year one | Ends |
|---|---|---|---|
| October 21, 2026 | Unchanged: up to 35,000 À la carte points: 10,000 for keeping payment-protection insurance 3 months, 10,000 for $2,500 in 3 months, 15,000 for $10,000 in 12 months; first-year $70 fee reimbursed. Valid until November 4, 2026 (start date not stated)Unchanged | $70, reimbursed yr 1 ($35 additional card) | November 4, 2026 |
| October 17, 2026 | Up to 35,000 À la carte points: 10,000 for keeping payment-protection insurance 3 months, 10,000 for $2,500 in 3 months, 15,000 for $10,000 in 12 months; first-year $70 fee reimbursed. Valid until November 4, 2026 (start date not stated)New offer; none was live on June 15, 2026. Not eligible if you held an NBC Mastercard in the past 12 months | $70, reimbursed yr 1 ($35 additional card) | November 4, 2026 |
General information, not financial advice. Offers change; confirm on National Bank's page before you apply.


